Store data from multiple table

Hi Frank,

Is it possible to store multiple sets of data of same MIB as snmp tables (scalar as well)?

For example, I have multiple routers and I have a machine which collects interface data (IF-MIB) from these routers.

• What is the preferred approach where I can store multiple different sets of data for same MIB?
  • How do I differentiate these data sets?

–Anirban

Hi Arniban,

You can use SNMPv3 contexts for that. This use case is exactly for what that context stuff has been designed for.

Best regards
Frank

Oh!! Yes. Many thanks Frank.
I have never used it before. If you have any example of its use, it would help immensely.

The atm_mib example provides an example adding a mib object in the non-default context “other”.

Thanks for your reply Frank.

But with contexts introduced, my AgentConfigSetup.properties file is not even parsing. It is throwing following exception

Caused by: java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: “ctx”
at java.lang.NumberFormatException.forInputString(NumberFormatException.java:65)
at java.lang.Long.parseLong(Long.java:589)
at java.lang.Long.parseLong(Long.java:631)
at org.snmp4j.util.SimpleOIDTextFormat.parseOID(SimpleOIDTextFormat.java:127)
at org.snmp4j.util.SimpleOIDTextFormat.parse(SimpleOIDTextFormat.java:150)

My AgentConfigSetup.properties is like this:

snmp4j.agent.cfg.contexts={s}INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER
snmp4j.agent.cfg.oid.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0={o}1.3.6.1.4.1.193
snmp4j.agent.cfg.oid.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.4.0={s}System Administrator
snmp4j.agent.cfg.oid.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.5.0={s}System Descr
snmp4j.agent.cfg.oid.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.6.0={s}
snmp4j.agent.cfg.oid.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.7.0={i}10
snmp4j.agent.cfg.oid.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.9.1=1:2
snmp4j.agent.cfg.index.ctx.INVIMP03BPL3SPNE1BER.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.9.1.0={o}1

What Am I Missing here?
Please help.

–Anirban